Explore the Redevelopment Journey
Maesteg Town Hall's cupolas, restored and rebuilt, finished and weatherproofed.The first of Maesteg Town Hall's cupolas, restored and rebuilt, finished and weatherproofed.Read More
Backstage Staircase Removed
The stage-right staircase, which led from backstage to the bus station, has been removed, and scaffolding erected in preperation for the installation of a new floor which will create more dressing room space much needed by larger performing groups and productions.
Trial Foundation Dig
A trial foundation dig has taken place, paving the way for a new lower level which will include new toilet facilities.
Maesteg Town Hall's Rebuilt Cupolas being Reinstated on the Main Roof of the Building.
Rebuilding Maesteg Town Hall’s Cupolas
Maesteg Town Hall's cupolas - the wooden structures on the building's roof, are being removed, rebuilt, re-leaded and re-installed to form part of the Hall's ventilation system as they were originally intended.Read More
Llynfi Lounge Progress
The Llynfi Lounge was unusable for many months before the temporary closure of Maesteg Town Hall due to its increasingly precarious ceiling. The ceiling is being reinforced, and the former lounge will form the new offices of the regenerated Town Hall.
The Inner Workings of our Iconic Clock laid out Ready to be Restored
Masonry Cleaning Uncovers Original Stone and Brickwork
The masonry cleaning in the former market hall has continued, uncovering original stone and brickwork throughout which will be retained in the new library and community space.Read More
Reinforcing Roof Beams
The beams of the main roof are being reinforced to prevent any further movement. With the main hall ceiling removed, new joist hangers have been installed to provide extra strength and stability to the new ceiling.
Preperations for a Capping Beam between the Historic Building and New Structure.
The Hall’s stone wall on the Talbot Street side at roof level is being carefully prepared in order to accommodate a new concrete capping beam.Read More
Preperations for new Attic Ventilation Systems
Catwalks and platforms fitted inside Maesteg Town Hall’s attic to support new ventilation equipment.Read More
Work on the Town Hall's Iconic Cloc
Our iconic clock has been taken apart and its mechanism taken out to provide unhindered access for the structural works needed to the tower, and to protect it during the process.Read More
Proscenium Arch from Atop the Birdcage Scaffolding
A unique view of Maesteg Town Hall's beautiful proscenium arch from atop the birdcage scaffolding, which has been used to take down the red false ceiling. The attic can currently be seen between the beams.
Original Materials Unearthed
This original 1881 arch in the former market hall was likely bricked up during Maesteg Town Hall's 1914 redevelopment.Read More
The Hall's New Roof
Maesteg Town Hall's main roof is currently being refitted entirely with natural slate.
Interior Scaffolding Erected
“Bird Cage” scaffolding has been erected throughout the auditorium to enable the old ceilings to be taken out.
Bar Strip Out Reveals Ornate Iron Columns
The strip out of the bar revealed ornate iron columns not seen in decades, which will be restored and remain within the hall.Read More
Wooden Panels and Decorated Woodwork Revealed
The removal of the 70s style laminate wood panels from around the hall has revealed decorated woodwork below the stage, as well as older wooden panels along both sides of the hall.Read More
Original 1881/1914 Stage Revealed
The stage floor – which was built up decades ago to a higher level than the adjacent backstage areas – has been removed, revealing the original 1881/1914 stage beneath.Read More
The Old Ticket Office
A door many will recognise, but not from this angle! Members of many of the Llynfi Valley’s societies have spent hours behind the old box office door on the Town Hall Square selling tickets for shows and events.Read More
Bricked Up Windows and Doorways to be Reopened
Bricked up windows and doorways alongside both sides of the hall will be reopened to fill the space with light, and the colourful walls will be cleaned to reveal the original stone and brick.Read More
Lower Hall Strip Out Reveals Cavernous Space
The strip out of the lower hall has revealed a cavernous space not seen in decades. This area will become home to Maesteg’s new library, heritage centre, dedicated children’s library, rooms for hire and community use, and café.Read More
Go Behind-the-Scenes of Christopher Williams Painting Conservation
CONSERVATION work is well underway on six oil paintings by the celebrated Welsh artist Christopher Williams (1873-1934). They have been temporarily removed from Maesteg Town Hall, whilst the building undergoes an £8.2m redevelopment.Read More
Preperations for New Roof
Scaffolding has been erected around the Hall, the main roof of the building has been stripped and will be replaced entirely with natural slate.Read More
Local Bricks Uncovered
Maesteg Town Hall has gone through many stages of building development. Here's a brick we've uncovered from one of the later stages - possibly the 1914 redevelopment - a product of Eagle Brickworks, Cwmafan, in operation 1907 - 1967.Read More
Stairway Demolished to Make Way for New Accessible Entranceway
Maesteg Town Hall’s entrance stairway has been demolished to make way for a new entranceway which will encompass a new passenger lift ensuring better access for all. The new stairway will be re-orientated around the lift, within our new foyer.Read More
An Interview with the Architect
We are committed to using local people and businesses on the Maesteg Town Hall redevelopment, wherever possible and practical. One of the main contributors from Purcell Architects is Ross Hartland. Originally from Ogmore Vale, Ross studied both his BSc (Hons) and Masters at the Welsh School of Architecture, where he graduated with First Class Honours and was nominated for an RIBA Presidents Medal in 2016.Read More
Paintings by celebrated local artist Christopher Williams removed from Maesteg Town Hall for restoration
Six paintings by renowned Maesteg-born painter Christopher Williams (1873–1934) have been temporarily removed from Maesteg Town Hall to be restored.Read More
Originally funded by miners who gave up a day’s wage to support the building’s completion, Maesteg Town Hall is proud to be backed by its local community.
Find out how you can support the next chapter for this iconic building.